Update: 59 Days Away

It’s been a while since I put up a blog post. I’ve been relatively silent as I put myself on this deadline to have a completed story by April 11th, which is now 58 days away. The pressure from a deadline is kind of fun. I haven’t come to terms with the fact that I absolutely must. It’s not a cop out. I promise you I will be done with this children’s book by then.

My progress to date is that I am about 80% of the way done with every panel, and I’ve already begun to mess around with some of the early panels with color and background. The coloring itself has been a delight as I have Silly’s pajamas down. They are blue, with a patch on the elbow and knee. Sam sports a cute red dress.

There was a portion of my story that required a little bit more drawing than I was used to. I don’t want to give away too much but Silly and Sam find themselves encountering a few characters. I think it came to about 8 in total. Different types, cowgirls, frogs, dragon, knights, etc… I had done so much drawing and learning to draw my characters that each new personality became a mini project itself. Chimpanzee drumline? Gee, where do I begin with that?

Anyways, the whole point of that was I had to stop and start over, over and over again. But the good thing that came of it was a great deal of practice. Different shapes, different faces, and different beings- from real people to anthropomorphic beings was a great page by page experience to pick up.

I’ll try and get back to more posts as I move along, but here are some of Silly and Sam as they emerge from a story they just traveled into and out of (they land back on the library floor).

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

